🗙

Webinar – Fortifying our Future: Coming together to support the World Health Assembly Resolution on Food Fortification

Description

Did you know that 1 in 2 preschool-aged children and 2 in 3 women of reproductive age worldwide have at least one micronutrient deficiency? Large scale food fortification is a key intervention that adds essential vitamins and minerals to widely consumed foods and condiments to help address micronutrient malnutrition.

A new resolution on food fortification at this year’s World Health Assembly (May 21 – 30) has united the health policy, disability rights, and nutrition communities behind an effort to prevent micronutrient deficiencies and their consequences, including spina bifida and other neural tube birth defects.Continued attention and advocacy are needed to maximize the impact of this important initiative.

Join IF in the advocacy path for the draft WHA resolution by participating in the webinar ‘Fortifying our Future: Coming together to support the World Health Assembly Resolution on Food Fortification’. IF Secretary General Dr. Sylvia Roozen and IF member from Turkey Papatya Alkan Genca are speakers in the panel discussions on Food Fortification – the ‘unfinished agenda’ to support the WHA adoption of the draft resolution on safe and effective food fortification.

Date: Tuesday, 4 April
Time : 8:30 AM EDT | 2:30 PM CEST | 6:00 PM IST
Register here 

Whatch the live recording here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I0MCyQ7CYSg